Editorial New Members of the TVLSI Editorial Board

NOTHER year is coming to an end and this is the last issue for 2006. During the month of October 2006, we had an unusual surge of submissions for consideration as regular papers. In 2006, we have experienced a significant increase in submissions and many of the associate editors have been handling between 30 to 35 manuscripts. I commend the associate editors for their outstanding work in terms of processing the manuscripts in a timely and fair manner. The services of the reviewers are acknowledged with gratitude and it is noted that the associate editors and reviewers contribute to the success of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VERY LARGE SCALE INTEGRATION (VLSI) SYSTEMS and that they are indeed the reason for the surge in the number of submissions to this Transactions.

After some serious considerations with the Associate Editor-in-Chief, Dr. S. Chakradhar, and the Steering Committee Chair, Dr. E. Friedman, we decided to add a few new associate

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/TVLSI.2006.890268

editors to the editorial board. The selections were predominantly based on the need in certain areas of the pending manuscripts. I am extremely happy to announce the induction of three members to the TVLSI editorial board. They are established researchers in their fields within the scope of VLSI systems. They have already been serving TVLSI for the past few months as associate editors and have shown dedication in their work. The normal appointment terms are for two years, beyond which the associate editors continue to serve in the editorial board until they complete the processing of all the pending manuscripts assigned to them. On behalf of TVLSI, I proudly welcome Dr. Joerg Henkel, Dr. Srinivas Katkoori, and Dr. Lars Liebmann to the TVLSI Editorial Board!

> NAGARAJAN RANGANATHAN, *Editor-In-Chief* Department of Computer Science and Engineering University of South Florida Tampa, FL 33620 USA



Joerg Henkel (SM'01) received the M.S. and Ph.D. (*summa cum laude*) degrees from the Technical University of Braunschweig, Braunschweig, Germany.

He is currently with Karlsruhe University (TH), Karlsruhe, Germany, where he is directing the Chair for Embedded Systems (CES). Before this, he joined the Computer and Communication Research Laboratories (CCRL) (now the NEC Laboratories America), Princeton, NJ, where he led various projects in the areas of low power system level design and advanced embedded architectures. He was also a Visiting Professor at the University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN.

Dr. Henkel has served or is serving as a program committee member for major conferences in electronic design automation and embedded system design like DAC, ICCAD, DATE, ASP-DAC, IEEE/ACM Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design (ISLPED), Codes-ISSS, CASES, RTSS, and RSP. He has given full-day tutorials at conferences like DAC, ICCAD, DATE, and others in the area of embedded system design. In 2001, he served as a Program Chair for the IEEE/ACM Codes Hardware/Software Co-design Symposium and was a General of the same convention in

2002. Furthermore, he was a Program Chair for the 2002 IEEE Workshop on Rapid System Prototyping. Currently, he serves as a Program Chair for the ISLPED. He has guest-edited special issues on hardware/software co-design in the *IEEE Computer Magazine* and on rapid system prototyping with Kluwer Publishers. He is the Chair of the IEEE Computer Society, Germany Section. He holds seven U. S. patents.



Srinivas Katkoori (SM'03) received the Ph.D. degree in computer engineering from the University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH, in 1998.

In 1997, he joined the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of South Florida, Tampa, as an Assistant Professor. In 2004, he was tenured and promoted as an Associate Professor. His research interests include very large scale integration (VLSI) computer-aided design (CAD) algorithms and design methodologies. Specific research areas include: high level synthesis, low power synthesis, field-programmable gate array (FPGA) synthesis, and radiation tolerant CAD for FPGAs.

Dr. Katkoori was a recipient of the 2001 National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Award, the Inaugural 2002–2003 University of South Florida Outstanding Faculty Research Achievement Award, and the 2005 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award from the IEEE Florida Council (Region 3). Besides NSF, his research sponsors include Honeywell, NASA JPL, and Florida I4 High Tech Corridor Initiative. He serves on the technical committees of several VLSI conferences

and as a peer reviewer for several VLSI journals. To date, he has published over 50 peer-reviewed journal and conference papers. He holds one U. S. Patent (6963 217). He is a member of the ACM.



Lars Liebmann received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in nuclear engineering and the Ph.D. degree in engineering physics, all from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY.

He is a Distinguished Engineer at the Design for Manufactuing, Semiconductor Research and Development Center, IBM Systems and Technology Group, Technology Collaboration Solutions, Hopewell Junction, NY. In 1991, he joined IBM. He came into design for manufacturing (DfM) with a background in advanced lithography, where he spent the first 13 years of his career developing and implementing layout manipulation solutions for optical proximity correction and resolution enhancement techniques (RET). His work on layout intensive RET such as the design of subresolution assist features and the automatic generation of alternating phase shifted mask layouts for leading edge logic products led to his pioneering work on restricted design rules (RDR) as a practical means of implementing DfM. In his latest assignment, he is charged with the strategic integration and execution of all aspects of DfM in IBM's Semiconductor Research and Development Center. He also chairs IBM's newly formed "DfM Council" a body of senior technical leaders

representing IBM's broad spectrum of technology and product groups, focused on guiding all aspects of IBM's development and implementation of advanced DfM solutions. He holds over 40 patents and has published over 40 papers. He has taught several short courses and has presented numerous tutorials at various technical venues.

Dr. Liebmann was a founding program committee member of the SPIE Design and Process Integration for Microelectronic Manufacturing Conference, which he chaired in 2004 and 2005.